|southlondon guide.co.uk the definitive guide to South East & South West London
|A Timeline History of Sydenham
|Welcome to Sydenham history
Anerley & Penge
Elephant and Castle
Old Kent Road
1206 Sydenham then known as Chipeham.
1206 Sydenham then known as Shippenham.
1615 Locals went to court to attempt to stop enclosure.
Mid-C17 Medicinal springs found at Wells Park.
1690 Sydenham then known as Sidenham.
1727 Reference to Greyhound public house
1770 Green Dragon, Sydenham Wells
1809 Croydon Canal built.
1810 Common enclosed.
1832 St Bartholomew by Vuiliamy opened on Westwood Hill
1836 Railway built on old Croydon Canal, which led to development of Sydenham.
1845-8 Railway powered by unique 'atmospheric pressure' traction.
1854 Crystal Palace exhibition moved to near Sydenham.
Sydenham Railway station opened.
1860 William Cobb established first shop at 301 Kirkdale Road
1878 Mayow Park opened as Sydenham & Forest Hill Public Recreation Ground
1884 Ernest Shackleton (aged 10) moved with family from Ireland to 12 Westow Hill
1885 Shackleton attended Fir Lodge preparatory School (pictured in the window)
1887 Sydenham High School opened.
1890 Bell Green Gas works built
1897 Queen Victoria Diamond Jubilee monument built
1901 Sydenham Wells Park opened (on site of Sydenham Wells Spa
1902 Cobbs Department Store opened at 297-301 Kirkdale Road
1903 All Saints Church built on Trewsbury Road
1909 Sydenham and Forest Hill roller skating rink opened at 6 Silberdale Road
1910 Queens Hall Electric Theatre opened at 22-23 Empire Parade (now 44 Sydenham Road)
1913 Sydenham and Forest Hill roller skating rink became Rink Cinema
Sydenham in the First World War.
Sydenham in the Second World War.
Post War Sydenham
1949 State renamed The Granada
|(c) South London Guide 2023